Septic Pelvic Vein Thrombophlebitis?

that is the latest diagnosis for Elisabeth- information here  It’s extremely rare -1 in 2000 vaginal births.   I cannot believe how similar Elisabeth’s experience of childbirth has been to mine but in one delivery, not 2 and slightly worse from the sounds of it. Thank goodness for modern medicine.

With Alan, I ended up with a pelvic abscess when he was 10wks and was in hospital for 2 weeks on antibiotics . The abscess was so big, it was too dangerous to operate and thankfully the antibiotics worked although I had to an exploratory laparotomy 3 months later and have my appendix removed.  Pretty sure it started before he was born as I was in so much pain for the last part of my pregnancy and constantly sick.  At the time, just thought it was because he was big (8lb 12oz) and lying awkwardly.

With Emily, she got stuck with her shoulders and I had to an extensive bilateral episiotomy but I don’t think it was as bad as Elisabeth’s injury.  They didn’t tell you anything in those days, just stitched you up and told you get on with it.  I didn’t see Emily for 6 hrs after the birth as she had a fractured  collar bone so was rushed away immediately and I lost so much blood I was completely out of it anyway. Fortunately I was given blood straight away with antibiotics so by the time I was discharged I wasn’t feeling too bad.  Unfortunately due to Emily’s fractured collar bone, she was very difficulty to breast feed and a week later I ended up with mastitis and a fever of 104 😦  Pretty sure with all the new aids that are available for breast-feeding now, the situation would have been different but at the time, the best you had, was a pillow and a heat lamp 😦   That led on to another infection which reopened my episiotomy wound 😦   At that point, my GP said I should give up breast-feeding and give my body time to heal.  I felt like such a failure!

When I was in my 40’s I started to get really bad period pains and had several years of going to variety of Doctors who found I had adenomyosis where the endometrial tissue, which normally lines the uterus, moves into the outer muscular walls of the uterus.   Apparently the cause is unknown but probably due the difficult births I had, as it is more common in women who have a caesarean, as is the condition Elisabeth is currently suffering from.  I had several biopsies  during this time and the last one it was discovered I had a uterine infection that usually only occurs after childbirth.  My doctor was shocked to say the least, as Emily was in her late teens by that stage! I did ask if it could have been from the previous biopsies but she said from my notes from my other doctors which she had received after she had done the biopsy, it was there all the time. They just hadn’t seen it  (she was gynae/oncologist), probably because they weren’t looking for it.   She gave me antibiotics for it and from that day I had no problems with my periods. In fact I went into full menopause which my blood work had been indicating for a few years but I kept having break through bleeding. A simple dose of specific medication saved me from an unnecessary hysterectomy which I had been resisting for a while.

It is amazing how much pregnancy and birthing effects your life.  Look at the internet and it is full  of complications, small and major but we seem to think it just like going to the Dentist.  It might be painful, sometime we don’t like particularly but it’s soon over.  Most of us are not honest about how much it has effected our lives and that includes the Dads who have to live with this change.

Hopefully, this episode for Elisabeth will be soon over and with all the advances in medicine,  hopefully she will not have any repercussions in the future.

This entry was posted in general. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Septic Pelvic Vein Thrombophlebitis?

  1. Middle Child says:

    I am so sorry that it was n’t straight forward…hopefully she is improving and nothing else will go wrong.

Leave a Reply

